Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Tuesday, April 24 2018 @ 08:41 PM UTC

Hyperloopism is infecting everything; It’s time for sustainable alternatives.

Biking ElsewhereBy Lloyd Alter, Treehugger

...
Hyperloopism. The perfect word to define a crazy new and unproven technology which nobody is sure will work, that probably isn't better or cheaper than the way things are done now, and is often counterproductive and used as an excuse to actually do nothing at all. It appears to have been coined by Matthew Yglesias five years ago in the title of a post (The Trouble With Hyperloopism) but I can find no other uses of it on Google.
...

We actually do know how to fix things. We know how to make streets safe for pedestrians and stop murdering children; we know how to reduce carbon emissions to almost zero. But in the USA it appears that Hyperloopism is the religion of the day, and Elon Musk will solve it all. Somehow, I think people are going to be disappointed.

https://www.treehugger.com/urban-design/hyperloopism-infecting-everything-its-time-sustainable-alternatives.html

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: https://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=20180323160545686

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 21-Feb


Saturday 17-Feb


Thursday 15-Feb


Monday 12-Feb


Wednesday 24-Jan


Wednesday 17-Jan


Monday 15-Jan


Sunday 14-Jan


Saturday 13-Jan