Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Tuesday, April 24 2018 @ 08:54 PM UTC

AMBIENT LIGHT & TRAFFIC COLLISIONS W/ PEDS AT PED CROSSINGS

Biking Elsewhere [B'Spokes: Wait, did he just say peds were safer not crossing at an intersection?]

-> Accident Analysis & Prevention published a paper that considered biannual clock changes resulting from transitions to and from daylight saving time were used to compare road traffic collisions (RTCs) in the UK during daylight and darkness but at the same time of day. Results suggested there was a significantly greater risk of a pedestrian RTC at a crossing after-dark than during daylight, and that the risk of an RTC after-dark was greater at a pedestrian crossing than at a location at least 50 m away from a crossing. This increased risk is not due to a lack of lighting at these locations as 98% of RTCs at pedestrian crossings after-dark were lit by road lighting. "The Effect of Ambient Light Condition on Road Traffic Collisions Involving Pedestrians on Pedestrian Crossings" http://bit.ly/2fOlnGo

from CenterLines, the e-newsletter of the National Center for Bicycling & Walking.

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: https://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=20180115005347943

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 21-Feb


Saturday 17-Feb


Thursday 15-Feb


Monday 12-Feb


Wednesday 24-Jan


Wednesday 17-Jan


Monday 15-Jan


Sunday 14-Jan


Saturday 13-Jan