Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Friday, March 23 2018 @ 01:14 AM UTC

Driver in car hits 14 year old with right of way in crosswalk, and all they care about is the iPhone

Biking ElsewhereBy Lloyd Alter, Treehugger

It's almost like there is a concerted campaign to turn distracted walking into a serious problem.

Driver Chooses Not to Yield Right of Way to Teenage Girl in Crosswalk, Opts to Hit Her with Van Instead.

And there's even a "You're legally required to stop for pedestrians" sign right there. Was the driver impaired or just not paying attention?

[B' Spokes: And I'll add that distracted driving is a known problem but there is this concerted effort to project drivers problems on to pedestrians, like there is a law that requires pedestrians to jump out of the way of cars and they must never ever be in a situation that might require drivers to stop. Even though we have laws that require drivers to stop when a pedestrian is in their way. The problem is the expectation is moving from "Drivers will stop for you when you are in a crosswalk" to "Pedestrians can never require drivers to stop for them, even in crosswalks."]

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 24-Jan

Wednesday 17-Jan

Monday 15-Jan

Sunday 14-Jan

Saturday 13-Jan

Saturday 23-Dec

Tuesday 19-Dec

Saturday 09-Dec

Tuesday 28-Nov

Saturday 18-Nov