Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Friday, March 23 2018 @ 01:12 AM UTC


Biking Elsewhere-> Public Health Newswire reports the American Public Health Association (APHA) and the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE), in partnership with the League of American Bicyclists, have developed an interactive website that makes critical data from the "Bicycling and Walking in the United States: 2016 Benchmarking Report" ( more accessible and user-friendly. The new site,, highlights the data collected and analyzed by the Alliance for Biking and Walking from all 50 states, the 50 most populous U.S. cities and 18 additional cities of various sizes for its benchmarking report.

Updated every two years since 2003, this report promotes data collection and availability, measures progress, evaluates results and supports efforts to increase bicycling and walking in America. Its findings trace the rise of biking and walking in the U.S. and explore the intersections between transportation, health, economics, equity, government funding, advocacy efforts and more that shape American mobility and account for active transportation gains and challenges. The first half of the report reviews relevant research to help users identify and make the case for biking and walking improvements. The second half of the report digs into the numbers at the state and city levels. The end of the report is a "tool box" of resources to help readers take the next step in applying these data to their situations.

from CenterLines, the e-newsletter of the National Center for Bicycling & Walking.

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 24-Jan

Wednesday 17-Jan

Monday 15-Jan

Sunday 14-Jan

Saturday 13-Jan

Saturday 23-Dec

Tuesday 19-Dec

Saturday 09-Dec

Tuesday 28-Nov

Saturday 18-Nov