Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Friday, March 23 2018 @ 12:56 AM UTC

Do pedestrian buttons actually work?

Biking ElsewhereVia OntarioTrafficman

Explaining why some pedestrian buttons don't seem to work

At a typical intersection between a main street and a side street, the pedestrian signal along the main street defaults to walk, so it doesn’t matter whether or not anyone presses the button.
[B' Spokes: Not around here they don't and that irks me. Watch the video to see a better way to make Ped buttons work. Something the article failed to mention by requiring the ped button to be always pushed before the green phase has started and/or requiring a mandatory 90 second "pre-queue" before a pedestrian can start walking DOT is actually encouraging unsafe crossings. "must be programmed to minimize delay, which will increase compliance." (]

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 24-Jan

Wednesday 17-Jan

Monday 15-Jan

Sunday 14-Jan

Saturday 13-Jan

Saturday 23-Dec

Tuesday 19-Dec

Saturday 09-Dec

Tuesday 28-Nov

Saturday 18-Nov