Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Saturday, March 24 2018 @ 07:43 PM UTC

Hagerstown officials on board in support of Civil War Railroad Trail

Bike PathsBy C.J. LOVELACE, Herald-mail

Hagerstown officials earlier this month joined the Washington County Board of Commissioners in support of a new biking and hiking trail that would connect Hagerstown’s City Park to the Chesapeake & Ohio Canal near the Potomac River.

The pledge came after the five-member Hagerstown City Council heard a proposal March 6 to create a Civil War Railroad Trail, running 23.4 miles south to Weverton, Md.

Dick Cushwa of the city’s Bicycle Advisory Committee outlined the project, which would follow the former Baltimore & Ohio Railroad line and ultimately connect to the 184.5-mile C&O Canal.

The proposed trail project would promote tourism, economic development and healthy lifestyle opportunities for city and county residents, Cushwa said.
<a href=",0,6209358.story">,0,6209358.story</a>;

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Monday 12-Feb

Wednesday 24-Jan

Wednesday 17-Jan

Monday 15-Jan

Sunday 14-Jan

Saturday 13-Jan

Saturday 23-Dec

Tuesday 19-Dec

Saturday 09-Dec

Tuesday 28-Nov