Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Wednesday, October 07 2015 @ 09:04 PM UTC

Traffic deaths at lowest point in 62 years [but ...]

Biking ElsewhereBy Ashley Halsey III, Washington Post

Deaths behind the wheel of an automobile fell last year to the lowest level since the Truman administration, but there was an increase in fatalities among bicyclists, pedestrians, motorcycle riders and big-rig truck drivers, according to federal figures released Monday.

The number of bicyclists killed increased by 8.7 percent and pedestrian deaths were up 3 percent.

“Our culture is beginning to move away from driving and toward healthier and greener modes of transportations,” said Jonathan Adkins, deputy executive director of the Governors Highway Safety Association. “We need to be able to accommodate all these forms of transportation safely.”

<a href=""></a>;

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Saturday 26-Sep

Tuesday 15-Sep

Monday 14-Sep

Saturday 12-Sep

Thursday 10-Sep

Wednesday 09-Sep

Thursday 27-Aug

Tuesday 25-Aug

Monday 24-Aug