Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Sunday, October 04 2015 @ 07:36 PM UTC

Yield to pedestrians, or else

Biking ElsewhereYo Hopkins, this is how you do it. (ref: <a href=""></a>; )
By Mary Ann Horne, East Orlando Sun

Students aren’t the only ones cautioned to pay attention as Orange County heads back to school Aug. 20. The new school year also will bring important—and possibly expensive—lessons for drivers.

Law enforcement agencies are getting serious with motorists who don’t yield to pedestrians at crosswalks, as Florida law requires. Penalties for failing to yield include a fine of $164 and three driver’s license points.

This high-profile crackdown, known as Operation Best Foot Forward, is part of a community-wide effort to cut pedestrian deaths and injuries in half during the next five years in Orlando and Orange County.

<a href=""></a>;

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

Here's what others have to say about 'Yield to pedestrians, or else':

Orlando Looks to Halve Pedestrian Deaths |
[...] trying to tackle the problem. Photo: Reuters This East Orlando Sun article was referenced today by Network blog Baltimore Spokes, with the admonishment, “[T]his is how you do it.” Law enforcement agencies are getting serious with [...] [read more]
Tracked on Tuesday, September 18 2012 @ 10:38 AM UTC


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Tuesday 15-Sep

Monday 14-Sep

Saturday 12-Sep

Thursday 10-Sep

Wednesday 09-Sep

Thursday 27-Aug

Tuesday 25-Aug

Monday 24-Aug

Thursday 20-Aug