Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Wednesday, February 21 2018 @ 01:33 PM UTC

Ten reasons why reducing automobile dependency makes sense

Health & EnvironmentBy Greg Vann, Reviewanew

Like many places throughout the world, Australian cities’ transport systems are dominated by the private car. The car has offered unprecedented flexibility and reach in our personal mobility and dominated the form and lifestyles in cities since the mid 20th century. They can be convenient and versatile and fast, and now account for about 90 per cent of the total urban passenger movements (up from around 40 per cent in the late 1940s). In Australia there are about 17m cars. Worldwide, we are up there in terms of cars per capita at around 7 cars for every 10 people.
...

[B' Spokes: Just major headings.]

1. Public health
...
2. Land consumption.
...
3. Environmental impacts.
...
4. Urban design.
...
5. Public safety,
,,,
6. Budget impacts
...
7. Driving affects us psychologically.
We can become quite anti-social, judgemental, and mean when we drive.
...
8. Cars are a strain on many household budgets.
...
9. Cars are the main cause of congestion.
...
10. The dream does not match the reality.
...

http://reviewanew.com/2014/04/26/ten-reasons-why-reducing-automobile-dependency-makes-sense/

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: https://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=20180124191706532

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Saturday 23-Dec


Tuesday 19-Dec


Saturday 09-Dec


Tuesday 28-Nov


Tuesday 21-Nov


Saturday 18-Nov


Friday 17-Nov


Thursday 16-Nov


Tuesday 14-Nov


Sunday 12-Nov