Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Wednesday, February 21 2018 @ 01:33 PM UTC

SAFETY IN NUMBERS & PED & CYCLIST RISKS OF BEING HIT BY DRIVERS

Biking Elsewhere-> The Roadway Safety Institute reports in a recent project in which University of MN researchers evaluated whether a phenomenon known as "safety in numbers" was observable in crash data collected for Minneapolis, MN—one of the few cities that currently has a sufficiently rich dataset of pedestrian and bicyclist counts to allow for meaningful safety analysis. (Safety in Numbers? Accessibility, Traffic, and Safety of Nonmotorized Travelers: http://bit.ly/2fP7bNB) Researchers found that safety in numbers played a positive role: 1) pedestrians were at a lower risk of being hit by a driver at intersections with more pedestrian traffic, and individual drivers were at a lower risk of hitting pedestrians at intersections with more car traffic, and 2) intersections with more vehicles and cyclists exhibited lower crash rates. http://bit.ly/2fPyzeh

from CenterLines, the e-newsletter of the National Center for Bicycling & Walking.

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: https://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=20180114203924472

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Saturday 23-Dec


Tuesday 19-Dec


Saturday 09-Dec


Tuesday 28-Nov


Tuesday 21-Nov


Saturday 18-Nov


Friday 17-Nov


Thursday 16-Nov


Tuesday 14-Nov


Sunday 12-Nov