Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Wednesday, February 21 2018 @ 01:30 PM UTC

MI DOT GATEWAY PEDESTRIAN TREATMENT GUIDE

Biking Elsewhere-> MI DOT released its "User Guide for R1-6 Gateway Treatment for Pedestrian Crossings." The R1-6 Gateway Treatment consists of In-Street Pedestrians signs used across an entire roadway – lane lines, center lines, bike lane lines, medians, etc. to highlight a marked pedestrian crosswalk. The perceived narrowing of the road is one factor influencing the treatments efficacy. Research data show that when appropriately used, the gateway treatment increases driver yielding compliance from 0-10% to 60-100%. Data also show that driving speeds are reduced around these devices, regardless of pedestrian presence. These results have been sustained over time and suggestions are included in the guide to increase survivability for maintenance. http://bit.ly/2oLVjfb

from CenterLines, the e-newsletter of the National Center for Bicycling & Walking.

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: https://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=20170915224701993

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Saturday 23-Dec


Tuesday 19-Dec


Saturday 09-Dec


Tuesday 28-Nov


Tuesday 21-Nov


Saturday 18-Nov


Friday 17-Nov


Thursday 16-Nov


Tuesday 14-Nov


Sunday 12-Nov