Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Saturday, March 24 2018 @ 07:24 PM UTC

Houston Police Set Up Stings To Catch Drivers Who Endanger Cyclists

News you will not see in MarylandBy Stephen Paulsen, Houston Press

Six bike riders have been killed in the Houston area so far this year, according to advocacy group BikeHouston, but the Houston Police Department is now setting up regular stings for drivers who endanger cyclists.

In March, Houston Police Chief Art Acevedo announced he'd start going after drivers who pass bikes without the minimum three feet of space, using plainclothes bike cops equipped with a high-tech "C3FT" device. It's part of a push by a number of local politicians, including Mayor Sylvester Turner and Harris County District Attorney Kim Ogg, to make Houston safer for cyclists.

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.



My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Monday 12-Feb

Wednesday 24-Jan

Wednesday 17-Jan

Monday 15-Jan

Sunday 14-Jan

Saturday 13-Jan

Saturday 23-Dec

Tuesday 19-Dec

Saturday 09-Dec

Tuesday 28-Nov