Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Friday, May 25 2018 @ 03:06 AM UTC

We can't keep adding cars to our roads. Is it time to say goodbye?

Biking ElsewhereBy Anthony James, World Economic Forum

The average car is stationary 96% of the time. That’s a fairly consistent finding around the world, including in Australia. A car is typically parked at home 80% of the time, parked elsewhere 16% of the time, and on the move just 4% of the time. And that doesn’t include the increasing time we spend at a standstill in traffic.

Bill Ford, executive chair of the Ford Motor Company, says we’re heading for “global gridlock”. And he’s not alone in saying we cannot simply keep adding more cars to our roads.
...

https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2017/02/why-it-might-be-time-to-ditch-your-car

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: https://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=20170430165046629

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 21-Feb


Saturday 17-Feb


Thursday 15-Feb


Monday 12-Feb


Wednesday 24-Jan


Wednesday 17-Jan


Monday 15-Jan


Sunday 14-Jan


Saturday 13-Jan