Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Friday, March 23 2018 @ 02:53 AM UTC


Biking Elsewhere-> According to the Fall 2012 FHWA Pedestrian Forum, "The FHWA strongly encourages the use of 'road diets' (roadway reconfiguration) where appropriate. The classic 'road diet,' involves converting an undivided four lane roadway into three lanes made up of two through lanes and a center two-way left turn lane. The reduction of lanes allows the roadway to be reallocated for other uses such as bike lanes, pedestrian crossing islands, and/or parking. Road diets have multiple safety and operational benefits for vehicles as well as pedestrians, such as:"
Decreasing vehicle travel lanes for pedestrians to cross,
Providing room for a pedestrian crossing island,
Improving safety for bicyclists when bike lanes are added,
Providing the opportunity for on-street parking,
Reducing rear-end and sideswipe crashes, and
Improving speed limit compliance and decreasing crash severity when crashes do occur.
"Roadways with Average Daily Traffic (ADT) of 20,000 or less may be good candidates for a road diet and should be evaluated for feasibility. It has been shown that roads with 15,000 ADT or less had very good results in the areas of safety, operations, and livability."
"Driveway density, transit routes, the number and design of intersections along the corridor, as well as operational characteristics are some considerations to be evaluated before deciding to implement a road diet. Road diets can be low cost if planned in conjunction with reconstruction or simple overlay projects, since a road diet mostly consists of restriping."
<a href=""></a>;

from CenterLines, the e-newsletter of the National Center for Bicycling &amp; Walking.

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 24-Jan

Wednesday 17-Jan

Monday 15-Jan

Sunday 14-Jan

Saturday 13-Jan

Saturday 23-Dec

Tuesday 19-Dec

Saturday 09-Dec

Tuesday 28-Nov

Saturday 18-Nov