N.J. law now requires drivers stop for pedestrians in crosswalks

A new New Jersey state law goes into effect Thursday that mandates that motorists must stop — and remain stopped — for pedestrians in the crosswalk.

In the past, motorists were required only to yield to pedestrians in a crosswalk.

State Attorney General Paula T. Dow and Division of Highway Traffic Safety Director Pam Fischer are traveling the state Thursday to remind New Jerseyans of the change.

"For years, too many pedestrians have been dying in traffic accidents in New Jersey," Dow said. "With these changes to our law, motorists and pedestrians will no longer have to play a game of chicken when it comes to maneuvering on our roadways. The law brings new clarity that drivers must stop and remain stopped for pedestrians at intersections and crosswalks, and pedestrians, in turn, must use due care and not jaywalk or step into traffic outside of those crossing points."

Motorists who violate the law face a $200 fine, plus court costs, and 2 points on their license. They can also be subject to 15 days of community service and insurance surcharges.
[B' Spokes: There is also an added assumption that if a pedestrian is hit in a crosswalk the driver is at fault.]

<a href="http://www.newjerseynewsroom.com/state/nj-law-now-requires-drivers-stop-for-pedestrians-in-crosswalks">http://www.newjerseynewsroom.com/state/nj-law-now-requires-drivers-stop-for-pedestrians-in-crosswalks</a>;

Comments (0)

Baltimore Spokes