Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Saturday, October 10 2015 @ 10:49 AM UTC

Bike Law University: Summary of State Safe Passing Laws

Biking Elsewhere[B' Spokes: Here are some concepts in safe passing laws that the Maryland legislature has failed to incorporate.]

This law touches on three important concepts:

  1. Due care – By saying that a driver must exercise due care the law creates a relationship of responsibility for the driver of a vehicle approaching a bicyclist. Language stating a due care requirement may make it easier for bicyclists to hold a driver liable if hit.
  2. Defined distance – By stating that a reasonable and prudent distance is one of at least 3 feet the law makes it easy to publicize what is regarded as a safe distance and reinforces the most commonly required safe passing distance.
  3. Variable distance – By stating that a reasonable and prudent distance is one that varies with increased speed, the law makes it clear that three feet is not an absolute. What is safe can vary depending upon speed and road conditions. Recognizing this is rare amongst state laws that define a safe distance.


Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Tuesday 29-Sep

Monday 28-Sep

Saturday 26-Sep

Tuesday 15-Sep

Monday 14-Sep

Saturday 12-Sep

Thursday 10-Sep

Wednesday 09-Sep

Thursday 27-Aug