Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Saturday, September 05 2015 @ 05:40 AM UTC

Separated Bike Lanes, Slower Vehicle Speeds Greatly Reduce Bicycle Injuries

Biking ElsewhereVia: Science Daily

Feb. 20, 2013 — Using your bicycle to commute to work has numerous health and environmental benefits. Yet, the largest Canadian study on cycling injuries led by Ryerson University suggests cyclists are at risk of injury due to the lack of cycling infrastructure in large urban centres.

"Previous studies have focused on the measures such as helmets that reduce harm after a crash occurs," says Anne Harris, lead author of the study, who is an avid cyclist herself and an assistant professor with Ryerson's School of Occupational and Public Health. "Our study is one of the first to take a comprehensive look at how route infrastructure, particularly at intersections and major roadways, might influence the risk of cyclist injury in Canada."
...

<a href="http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2013/02/130220131744.htm">http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2013/02/130220131744.htm</a>;

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=20130221215911797

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Thursday 13-Aug


Wednesday 12-Aug


Tuesday 11-Aug


Saturday 08-Aug


Sunday 02-Aug


Saturday 01-Aug


Wednesday 29-Jul


Tuesday 28-Jul


Monday 27-Jul