Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Wednesday, October 07 2015 @ 09:04 PM UTC

The Diminishing Returns of Highway Building

Biking Elsewhereby Angie Schmitt, Streets Blog

Today on the Streetsblog Network, David Levinson at the Transportationist presents some interesting explanations about why so much American road building is a poor use of funds:

In this image, the black lines represent roads and the blue dotted line represents a traveler. At some point, adding additional roads is subject to diminishing returns, saving people less time per dollar invested. Image: David Levinson

We are not building much new transportation in the US not just because the costs are too high, but because the benefits are too low.


Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Saturday 26-Sep

Tuesday 15-Sep

Monday 14-Sep

Saturday 12-Sep

Thursday 10-Sep

Wednesday 09-Sep

Thursday 27-Aug

Tuesday 25-Aug

Monday 24-Aug