Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Thursday, May 05 2016 @ 08:32 AM UTC

HB 160 Riding on Sidewalks - Oppose

Bike LawsThe change in law as purposed by the bill:
UNLESS PROHIBITED by local ordinance, a person may ride a bicycle, play vehicle, or unicycle on a sidewalk or sidewalk area.
<a href="http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2013RS/bills/hb/hb0160f.pdf">http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2013RS/bills/hb/hb0160f.pdf</a>;

My main concern is study after study shows riding against the flow of traffic on the sidewalk is very dangerous. I do not support making such action legal.

From <a href="http://www.bike.cornell.edu/pdfs/Sidewalk_biking_FAQ.pdf">http://www.bike.cornell.edu/pdfs/Sidewalk_biking_FAQ.pdf</a>;
Bicyclists on a sidewalk or bicycle path incur greater risk than those on the roadway (on average 1.8 times as great), most likely because of blind conflicts at intersections. Wrongway sidewalk bicyclists are at even greater risk, and sidewalk bicycling appears to increase the incidence of wrong-way travel.

Main page: <a href="http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&amp;stab=01&amp;id=hb0160&amp;tab=subject3&amp;ys=2013RS">http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&amp;stab=01&amp;id=hb0160&amp;tab=subject3&amp;ys=2013RS</a>;

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=2013013113134157

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 06-Apr


Thursday 31-Mar


Sunday 20-Mar


Saturday 19-Mar


Thursday 17-Mar


Monday 07-Mar


Monday 29-Feb


Friday 19-Feb


Thursday 18-Feb