Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Tuesday, October 13 2015 @ 07:12 AM UTC

Annapolis Report Week 4 from Jon Cardin

Bike Lawsimage

Bicycling Safety Act

I have also introduced a new and improved Bicycle Safety bill for this year. In the past, I worked with Bike Maryland and other interested groups to pass legislation mandating a safe three foot passing distance from a bicyclist. The law already allows motorists to drive on the left side of the road to pass a cyclist, and this legislation will clarify the situations in which it is safe.
Cyclists on Maryland roads have increased by the tens of thousands over the last decade.  Those commuters and exercisers bring no pollution but rather an appetite and credit card to the communities they visit.  Unfortunately, when cars and bicycles collide, it is ALWAYS the bicyclist whose life is at risk. We should not wait for another tragic accident such as those that took the lives of Natasha Pettigrew, Nathan Krasnopoler and Larry Bensky to make the roads safe for cycling and make sure drivers are given flexibility to pass when safe.

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Wednesday 30-Sep

Tuesday 29-Sep

Monday 28-Sep

Saturday 26-Sep

Tuesday 15-Sep

Monday 14-Sep

Saturday 12-Sep

Thursday 10-Sep

Wednesday 09-Sep