Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Saturday, October 10 2015 @ 06:59 AM UTC

Maryland struggles with reducing pedestrian deaths

Biking in MarylandB' Spokes: Just to note Baltimore County is #2
Ben Giles, Washington Examiner

Maryland transportation officials lowered the bar when they set new goals for reducing pedestrian fatalities after the number of deaths continued to climb despite a nearly $50 million effort to make roads more walker-friendly.
The state's struggles can in part be traced to Prince George's and Montgomery counties, which rank first and third, respectively, for the number of pedestrian deaths between 2007 and 2011.
Montgomery County has shown signs of progress thanks in part to a county-funded pedestrian safety initiative, officials said, which saw $5 million initially set aside for the program.

<a href=""></a>;

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Tuesday 29-Sep

Monday 28-Sep

Saturday 26-Sep

Tuesday 15-Sep

Monday 14-Sep

Saturday 12-Sep

Thursday 10-Sep

Wednesday 09-Sep

Thursday 27-Aug