Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Sunday, May 29 2016 @ 05:15 PM UTC

Study Finds Car-Centric Neighborhoods Strongly Tied to Childhood Obesity

Biking Elsewhereby Angie Schmitt, Streets Blog

There’s a fairly obvious relationship between levels of physical activity and the layout of our streets and cities. Still, solid research on the link between childhood obesity and neighborhood design is scarcer than you might think.

A new study from the Seattle Children’s Research Institute, published in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine, helps fill in the picture. Comparing neighborhoods in San Diego and Seattle, the study found wildly different rates of obesity among children based on “place-related” factors, namely walkability and access to healthy foods.
...

<a href="http://streetsblog.net/2012/04/11/study-finds-car-centric-neighborhoods-strongly-tied-to-childhood-obesity/">http://streetsblog.net/2012/04/11/study-finds-car-centric-neighborhoods-strongly-tied-to-childhood-obesity/</a>;

Story Options

Trackback

Trackback URL for this entry: http://www.baltimorespokes.org/trackback.php?id=2012042318281753

No trackback comments for this entry.

0 comments

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Google


Site Map

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Sunday 08-May


Saturday 07-May


Friday 06-May


Thursday 05-May


Wednesday 04-May


Tuesday 03-May


Monday 02-May


Sunday 01-May


Saturday 23-Apr


Thursday 21-Apr