Baltimore Spokes
Biking in Baltimore
Sign Up!
Welcome to Baltimore Spokes
Sunday, October 04 2015 @ 09:15 PM UTC

It's too dangerous for kids to walk to school

Biking Elsewhere...
Even though Seminole is Central Florida's most affluent county, thousands of students who are within walking or bicycling distance of their public schools receive government-subsidized bus transportation.

Seminole provides subsidized bus rides to hundreds more students than anywhere else in Central Florida. Even Orange County, which has 100,000 more students than Seminole, has thousands fewer getting subsidized bus transportation.
"We have major, high-speed highways all over the county that don't qualify for busing and the kids have to walk," said Bill Wen, a transportation administrator for Orange schools. "But if you do it for one, you do it for all."
"We had no walkers," said Barbara Nixon, principal of Heathrow Elementary. "This has always been a totally bused school."

A half-dozen parents offered a well-organized presentation of why bus service should continue. Parents pointed out that although Markham Woods Road may appear to be a quaint suburban lane winding through upscale neighborhoods, it often looks more like a raceway during morning and afternoon rush hours when frustrated drivers use it as an alternative to nearby Interstate 4.,0,2472265.story

Story Options


Trackback URL for this entry:

No trackback comments for this entry.


My Account

Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?


Site Map


There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Tuesday 15-Sep

Monday 14-Sep

Saturday 12-Sep

Thursday 10-Sep

Wednesday 09-Sep

Thursday 27-Aug

Tuesday 25-Aug

Monday 24-Aug

Thursday 20-Aug